Halo 4 Armor – Foam Armor – Update 4: Lower ab/groin armor

 

It’s been a few days but I’ve been hard at work with the foam. Keeping up with the “let’s do the smaller bits first” I decided to work on the lower-ab/groin protection armor. In past Halo games this armor has been part of the belt/cod piece but in Halo 4 the Spartan-IV armor is a little bit more minimalized  there’s no belt. There’s just the hip protection, tailbone armor and cod piece. And the cod piece is extended to the lower ab and, depending on the armor you use, connects to the ab plate.

Anyways, here’s a couple of reference pictures before we get started. A head on shot and then the Recon (which is what I’m aiming at).

 

Halo Warrior cod piece

Halo 4 Recon Armor

Looks easy enough right? Well, it took me a few tries before I got something I liked.

More after the jump…

So there Pepakura Halo 4 codpiece files I found out there didn’t really seem to have the right shape. They looked more like a variation of Reach and the like. Nothing wrong with that, of course,  but not what I was going for. So the girlfriend and I had to design our own template. First time we came up with this.

Halo 4 cod piece

Looks pretty close but when we shaped everything it was too skinny and some parts just weren’t symmetrical enough for our liking. So we made the sides more symmetrical and widened the bottom. And we got exactly that. Here’s what version 2.0 looked like with the ab plate.

Halo 4 groin armor

 

I liked it enough to add in the little holes. But the more I thought about it the less I liked it. It was now too wide at the bottom and the holes were bigger than I expected. And I wanted a little more space between the top of the lower-ab piece and the ab plate. So back to the drawing board. We trimmed the sides so where the folds on the above image are is the outside of version 3.0. Here’s 3.0 with the ab plate.

Halo 4 eva foam groin piece

Don’t let the shadows deceive you — it’s symmetrical.  It’s not exactly screen accurate to the game but my hips aren’t nearly as wide as a Spartan’s, so sacrifices need to be made in the name of comfort and reality. To get the bends I did the same thing as the ab plate — cut in little ditch, heat up the foam and then glue one part of the foam into the ditch (few inches at a time).

back of halo 4 eva foam groin armor

 

I’ll be adding leather to the bottom of this that’ll wrap around and connect to the pants to get a closer look to the game.

For fun, here are the three versions side by side.

IMG_1306[1]

Next up… the hip armor.

Leave a Reply

